I will be brave

The title of my blog, is fairly easy to understand if you are a sufferer of anorexia or a loved one of a sufferer. The need to brave when it comes to battling an eating disorder is what many outsiders don’t understand. Eating? Why would you need to be brave to just eat. Before I get into detail, lets go back to this basics. Eating disorders are biological brain disorders. “Parents do not cause eating disorders and children (or adults) don’t choose to have them.” I’ve accepted that I didn’t choose this illness, anyone that suffers with anorexia wouldn’t wish it on their worst enemy. In fact I find myself at times wishing I was battling something else or anything else for that matter. There’s no quick fix to anorexia nervosa, no magic pill to make the thoughts or the physiological destruction caused by malnutrition, just go away. You have to fight with all you have, hope and believe that there is something more out there. A chance for a life not consumed by food, calories, body image, depression, and anxiety. Unfortunately I have experienced a time where I couldn’t fight for myself. In that case others have to fight for you, nourish you by any means possible (ng tube, g-tube) so your brain can wrap its head around the fact that not getting nourishment is just not an option. Slowly dying is just not okay. Sometimes I still feel I’m the exception to the rule, that I don’t need food; but part of me knows that is the eating disorder talking, not Cody.

Another point I want to bring up is the fact that you do not have to want to get better from your eating disorder to begin the healing process. In fact, it is the nature of the illness to be fearful of recovery and deny that you may even have a problem. The eating disorder numbs you out, so you don’t have to feel the pain, the anxiety, the depression. It works in the moment but it is a vicious cycle that leaves you feeling more depressed, anxious and fearful of weight gain. I’ve just arrived home from a 9 month stay in treatment 2 weeks ago (including almost 2 and half months of hospitalization and 7 months of intensive outpatient/day treatment), and most days I’m afraid of recovery and wish to go back to my eating disorder. Its a miserable place to be but sometimes the miserable, because it is what I know seems less scary than the unknown future which is potentially filled with hope, promise and maybe even happiness. It’s a lot to wrap your head around if you haven’t battled an eating disorder, but all you ed warriors know what I’m talking about.

Now to the bravery piece. I get choked up thinking about it. Back in January of this year, 2012, I was terrified of food and water. My brain was so starved and my body was wasting. I cared about nothing and I wanted to die. I thought I was ready. I had told my mom from my hospital bed that I had lived a good life, I had many successes and failures and people would remember me for those. It was my doctors and my parents who told me that they were not going to let that happen. When I met Dr O’ Toole one of the first things she told me was that I was very sick. She said she didn’t want me to worry about eating, that they were going to put an ng-tube in my nose to get the process started and give my mind and body a break. I tried to explain that I wasn’t that sick, that I was okay, that I didn’t need to go the hospital, but my blue finger tips and inability to walk even 5 steps showed otherwise. The bravery began when I entered the hospital. I allowed the placement of an ng-tube. The thought of food going into my stomach through a tube in my nose was terrifying but something inside me knew I deserved better. After a few days of ng-tube feeds I took the bold step of asking to eat. Shaking with fear and anxiety I spooned bite after bite into my mouth as the kind compasionate nurses of Randall children’s hospital sat with me through the tears, encouraging me to be brave. I don’t think anyone can understand or comprehend the fear of food that encompasses anorexia nervosa. Most the time it doesn’t make sense to me but that is why it is brain disorder. All I know is my own fear and how painful it was both mentally and physically to feed a body that had been starving for far to long.

As I continue on my journey I am far from where I want to be. I’m in a healthy body and no longer suffering the physical effects of anorexia but mentally, the pain is still unbearable at times. I keep fighting, with every bite I continue to be brave.

About chn4

My name is Cody. I'm 22 years old recovering from anorexia. I'm starting this blog as a way to cope with my feelings, fears and doubts. I hope that as time goes on I will be able to help other strugglers and those who want understand the pain that is anorexia. No one should have to feel such despair and hatred towards themselves, no one should feel as if they don't deserve food. Unfortunately anorexia is a brain disorder and although the media doesn't help the situation it does not cause eating disorders. Recovery is a process, and it hurts. I am only at the beginning and I'm scared but I have to be brave and believe that there is something better out there for me. I will be brave.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I will be brave

  1. Rhonda says:

    Cody, my daughter is currently fighting ed also. You are in my prayers. Keep the fight one meal at a time.

  2. Rivka says:

    Cody I remember you from NYP in White Plains. You are and continue to be an inspiration to me. I wish you well and all the best!

  3. Long time no talk, Miss Cody! I didn’t know you were battling ED back when we were in school together, but I really wish I had because I think we could’ve been able to support each other. Your strength and courage amaze me and I look forward to reading more. Miss you!!!

    • Cody says:

      Hi Allie, so nice to hear from you. I didn’t take my dive with my eating disorder until sophomore year in college, struggled with disordered eating for a while before then but didn’t turn into full blown until sophomore year. From your post I assume you have struggled as well. I’m at the very beginning of recovery have gone in and out of relapse over the past few years but I finally got the right kind of help and I have a lot of support now. It’s still a struggle but would love to talk and catch up. Message me on fb, probably the easiest way to communicate. Hope your doing well. Thanks for the kind words.

  4. Joanie says:

    Keep being brave! I know your struggle. 15 y daughter in recovery. This is what worked for her: 1. Food going in 3 meals/3 snacks ( broad variety no consideration of fear foods) 2. Talk! Talking to therapist, parent, school nurse weekly/ daily 3. Time! This takes time… Patience.
    Do not listen to the ED voice. You know where the road to recovery is- stay on it!

  5. Lexie says:

    I’m very moved by your words. My 13 year old daughter is recovering too, and what you share helps me to understand her struggle a bit better. It’s a long, hard road. Please keep sharing your strength. You are in my thoughts.

  6. Wow, Cody. Thank you. xx

  7. Wendy says:

    Cody – you are a very very brave young woman and this is so beautifully written. We are all pulling for your recovery – one day at a time.

  8. Laura says:

    Cody, I wanted to let you know that I’m reading and find myself so inspired and choked up by your words. Keep on going! I’ll be here cheering you on!

  9. Katie says:

    Thanks for that heart-wrenching account of your struggles Cody. You are the bravest. I know it will help others to read this.

  10. Cody says:

    Thank you all for your kind, encouraging words.

  11. Rebecca says:

    🙂 So happy to see this blog!! I’ve said all I have to say to you….but I will repeat this: You are one of the strongest, bravest fighters I know! Keep on kicking that ED’s booty!! 😉 (fighter playlist) 🙂

  12. Jessica says:

    Cody you have a way with words. Keep being brave, you’ll get where you need to be. Love you!

Leave a comment